July 2016  David - DAS
"First class facilities, bikes and training."

 

July 2016  Neville - DAS
"Well structured and enjoyable week. Excellent instruction given."

 

July 2016  Mark - CBT+
"Unfortunately I couldn't finish the course due to health reasons up until then really enjoyed it for somebody never ridden a motorbike Mark got me riding round. When I come back when I get medical issues sorted definitely would like to work with Mark again."

 

July 2016  Michelle - IPT
"I want to say a very Big Thank to Mark for the amazing two days of riding I had with him. First day. I was a blubbering mess... An absolute nervous wreck! Thank you so much for your support, kind words and tuition. I walked away a different woman and LOVE riding now! :-) If it wasn’t for you, I would still be making excuses to stay off the bike. I can’t thank you enough!"

 

July 2016  Denis - DAS
"Reviews are great, if it works and you're happy you write 'best ever - thanks', and if it doesn't you write 'it's rubbish - never again', and those reading the reviews don't really get any meaningful information. So in writing this feedback, I almost wish I had been unsuccessful, because then my words here may have carried even more weight. But much to my delight I was successful, so make of that what you will....
So the review - having spent seven days with Ian Biederman and his team at BMW Rider Training in Royston I can certainly say not only do they they set the standards you would expect from BMW, they exceed them. Well appointed and comfortable training rooms with air conditioning, a lounge area and brew area, and not just a space in some skanky old portacabin. Facilities include a bespoke prepared training pad for practising slow speed manoeuvring, rather than a borrowed school yard, carpark or some wasteland. A hugely professional, consistent and friendly approach from the cadre of vastly qualified male and female instructors, who made learning fun. Riding round on immaculately presented (cleaned every day) 16 plate BMW 700GS bikes, with quality BMW weather proof riding suits, and gleaming System 6 helmets all provided, and fitted, even down the the obligatory branded high-viz being clean and bright, and not like some with what look like faded and unkempt like a road workers cast offs. This set us aside from other training providers that we encountered. The whole ethos made you proud to be on the BMW Training, as part of a team, and actually feel slightly sorry for those at other providers riding in their jeans in the rain on a motly collection of manky bikes.
Working with instructors who set us at ease, and quickly became friends, it was great to see how contact time was maximised, training tuned to our specific needs and staff and students all worked hard towards our common goal. A class of four students with two instructors split and worked independently in two teams, rather than being corralled as a large group on the roads. For BMW Training the visit to the test centre for the final MOD 2 Test, it was a full house, four of us presented at the test centre, and watching events unfold we saw others from lesser establishments come and go some with hopes sadly dashed. The four of us? We rode away into the sunset certificate safely stowed each having been successful.
The final part is more subtle, throughout the process from advice, booking and ultimately the course, the focus on customer care, the little steps and gestures over and above, to make the experience truly special shows not only their professionalism, but their customer focus and care and dedication.
So what don't you get from BMW?
Well you don't get false promises, they won't give you a CBT in half an hour on a twist and go, but they will give you one when you can safely handle a motorbike!
At the end of the course not only had I a success, I felt confident and able to ride out onto the road to a safe level. I had a brilliant week, challenging, fun, rewarding.
They won't hit you with hidden extras, additional charges, insurances or fuel charges, but they will give you an agreed price package, or an unlimited package of you feel the need for that reassurance.
So to the questions: Good value? hell yes! Would you recommend? Without question!
So for me now there is only one rider training, and that's BMW."

 

July 2016  Jo - DAS
"The overall experience was fantastic. Thank you so much. Julie is a fantastic instructor; she's calm, clear and patient. She is remarkable, she sees everything and provides great feedback. I felt well prepared for my tests and knew it was all down to me on the day! Delighted I passed and I feel lucky to have received such high quality instruction."

 

July 2016  James - DAS
"I had a great time with Mark, Good rides, clear advice sensitively given, leading and being led when appropriate. I learnt a lot and I am looking forward to putting it into practice. The bike was amazing which also helped!"

 

July 2016  Lewis - DAS
"Brilliant team up in Royston, professional and friendly, by the end of the week I was sad to be leaving."

 

June 2016  Matt - DAS
"Fantastic experience, brilliant instruction and just a ton of fun!"

 

June 2016  Tony - DAS
"I did my CBT elsewhere and as a first time rider I thought this was OK. That was until I attended the BMW rider training. It was a complete opposite end of the spectrum, the bikes were perfect for the job and immaculately kept, the facilities were more than up to scratch and the instructors were very professional, patient and very friendly which helps to relax the nervous first timers out on the road. A big thank you to Julie and Ian and to the whole team at Royston. It has been a great pleasure and will definitely be returning to add to my skills that I have been taught so far."

 

May 2016  Simon - DAS
"Most amazing week, even though I failed test the knowledge and skills I have gained through Mark Jenkins expert tuition has made me a much safer and confident rider, I cannot praise him highly enough, so I will return to retake test at the next opportunity I get."

 

May 2016  Dan - DAS
"The whole course and experience was excellent. The pace and course content, along with access to practice on the DVSA Mod 1 pad, was key to the course quality. Julie's coaching and teaching skills are second to none!"

 

May 2016  Adrian - DAS
"An unforgettable week. I really enjoyed every minute of every day. Brilliant bikes ,equipment and instructors. Every day was different and I enjoyed becoming gradually more confident and competent. I would not hesitate to recommend this course to anyone."

 

May 2016  Patrick - DAS
"All three of my instructors were empathetic, motivational and a delight to learn with. Dave and Graham were involved only on the first two days of the course, during which time they did a fine job of introducing three novices to the world of motorcycling. It was a pleasure to be instructed by them, and a wonderful surprise to discover how quickly we progressed onto the larger bikes and the open road. Under their guidance, I felt as safe and as in control as any novice motorcyclist could hope for. The final five days of my course were under the tutelage of Julie, who is a simply excellent instructor. She has a sympathetic and understanding manner, and is a delight to work with on a personal level. She is also a demanding taskmaster, committed to preparing her tutees exhaustively for Module 1 and Module 2 tests. She undoubtedly brings out the best in those she is tutoring: her roadcraft is astonishing and it is highly motivating to ride with her. Julie is able to simultaneously observe and guide two learners, read and react to the changing road conditions (both ahead and behind), all while keeping a calm and reassuring manner. I cannot imagine being in safer hands. In summary, I could not have been better prepared for the various tests along the way to a full motorcycle licence. It is no fault of BMW Rider Training that I failed the final hurdle, the Module 2 test. My training has brought into focus many shortcomings in my road skills, and suggested ways these my be rectified. I hope to retake, and eventually pass, the Module 2 test and also to apply the insights I have gained to become and safer and better car driver. I would like to take this opportunity to thank my three instructors, and those behind the scenes, at BMW Rider Training in Royston for a great week. Thank you! A wonderful introduction to the world of biking, with thorough training taking me from rookie to rider. Great team atmosphere - like spending time with family. Also being able to do the course in a concentrated time period. Also, gorgeous countryside and good access from London airports."

 

May 2016  Patrick - DAS
"All three of my instructors were empathetic, motivational and a delight to learn with. Dave and Graham were involved only on the first two days of the course, during which time they did a fine job of introducing three novices to the world of motorcycling. It was a pleasure to be instructed by them, and a wonderful surprise to discover how quickly we progressed onto the larger bikes and the open road. Under their guidance, I felt as safe and as in control as any novice motorcyclist could hope for. The final five days of my course were under the tutelage of Julie, who is a simply excellent instructor. She has a sympathetic and understanding manner, and is a delight to work with on a personal level. She is also a demanding taskmaster, committed to preparing her tutees exhaustively for Module 1 and Module 2 tests. She undoubtedly brings out the best in those she is tutoring: her roadcraft is astonishing and it is highly motivating to ride with her. Julie is able to simultaneously observe and guide two learners, read and react to the changing road conditions (both ahead and behind), all while keeping a calm and reassuring manner. I cannot imagine being in safer hands. In summary, I could not have been better prepared for the various tests along the way to a full motorcycle licence. It is no fault of BMW Rider Training that I failed the final hurdle, the Module 2 test. My training has brought into focus many shortcomings in my road skills, and suggested ways these my be rectified. I hope to retake, and eventually pass, the Module 2 test and also to apply the insights I have gained to become and safer and better car driver. I would like to take this opportunity to thank my three instructors, and those behind the scenes, at BMW Rider Training in Royston for a great week. Thank you! A wonderful introduction to the world of biking, with thorough training taking me from rookie to rider. Great team atmosphere - like spending time with family. Also being able to do the course in a concentrated time period. Also, gorgeous countryside and good access from London airports."

 

May 2016  Graig - IPT
"Appreciated the flexibility of the instructors to modify the course to suit My needs. Really appreciated the loan of equipment for following tour of Scotland. Taking the rider training helped me enjoy and feel more comfortable going on BMW Scotland tour, in a foreign country, with different road law and a different bike. Especially appreciated our instructor Mark, going to the great trouble of bringing my iPad, which I left behind in Royston to train station in London. That was above and beyond. Thank you Mark."

 

May 2016  Jennifer - DAS
"A wonderful introduction to the world of biking, with thorough training taking me from rookie to rider. Great team atmosphere - like spending time with family. Also being able to do the course in a concentrated time period. Also, gorgeous countryside and good access from London airports."

 

April 2016  Steve - IPT
"Very happy with the day. Weakness - my skills! Strengths - instructor knowledge and ability to tailor activities. I've tried training of different kinds before, it's one thing to be a strong rider, it's another to teach. Instructor was able to teach - excellent."

 

April 2016  Steve - IPT
"Very happy with the day. Weakness - my skills! Strengths - instructor knowledge and ability to tailor activities. I've tried training of different kinds before, it's one thing to be a strong rider, it's another to teach. Instructor was able to teach - excellent."

 

April 2016  Gavin - IPT
"An excellent training course which stepped up my technique and confidence after a few years away from riding. The advice which Mark offered about a range of motorbiking matters (situational awareness, bike care, maintenance, kit etc) was particularly valuable. The depth and credibility of his experience, from riding with other organisations, assured me that I could apply his advice unequivocally to become a better rider. The consistency of approach evident between the instructors also showed BMW are effectively developing and promoting riding best practice. I would not hesitate recommending BMW Rider Training to other riders or re-booking another course myself."

 

April 2016  Christa - IPT
"The Grin and I had a fantastic day, learnt LOADS and want to come back for more. Will do."

 

April 2016  Steve - DAS
"I never believed that when I sat on a bike on my 1st day that 7 days later I would have passed both my Module 1 and especially my Module 2 with no minors. Although Mark will say that it was all down to me as I was the one that did it I can say that his instruction, patience and great tea stops played more than a fair share in it. I can still hear his voice in my left ear telling me when I was doing things right and also when I could do things better. If anyone is looking for a training school that will teach you properly, with respect and an enormous amount of experience then look no further. I had a great time and although it is a roller coaster of emotions there is no feeling better than passing your test."

 

April 2016  Lisa - DAS
"Amazing week mark was the best trainer! Only had Ian for one day BUT he was fantastic thank you all. Chatted with them at the NEC they seemed the most professional school out there - and I wasn't wrong."

 

April 2016  Jack - DAS
"Extremely good instruction and tailored to my development on the bike. Plenty of practice at all aspects of both tests allowing me to go into them with confidence. Thanks to Julie, Dave, Ian and the whole team for an amazing week."

 

March 2016 Lee - DAS
"Julie and Ian were great instructors, worth the travel from Nottingham and will definitely be booking more training with them in the future."

March 2016 Nathan - DAS
"In relation to the instructors the rating above is not just for those who directly trained me it's for all of them at the centre. If I could rate higher than a 5 I would do all of them were oustanding and a credit to BMW."

March 2016 Matthew - DAS
"I enjoyed the DAS course very much, the facilities were excellent and so were the bikes. The staff are very professional and I would like to say a special thanks to Mark who was fantastic, taking me from never riding a bike to passing my MOD2. Highly recommended, Thank you"

March 2016 Charles - IPT
"Professional stanadards guaranteed"

March 2016 Amjud - IPT
"An excellent experience"

March 2016 Ben - DAS
"I wanted the best available and these guys are very highly thought of and definitely fit that description"

February 2016 Jacqueline - DAS
"Thank you to Mark and Dave for my initial instruction, my first taste of riding a bike, getting me on the road and training for my CBT. They were patient and encouraging at all times and always made me feel that I could do this. I knew I had a wealth of experience behind me. I was extremely impressed with my training from Julie. Her manner, instruction, feedback and encouragement was very professional and perfect for me. I felt I was in very safe and highly experienced hands at all times.Riding with Julie has taught me to always evaluate my riding and given me the desire to get better and better. I experienced a real roller coaster of emotions during the week but always wanted to get on my bike each day, it was such a thrill.  I was given the tools to achieve my license but I was given so much more than the requirements to Pass.  This gave me the confidence and skills to achieve first time passes and I was delighted. A terrific start to my lifelong training and my newfound  love of riding- at the front ! Thank you"

February 2016 Joe - DAS
"A fantastic team that make you feel part of the family the moment you walk in the door. Cannot praise them highly enough"

February 2016 Brian - IPT
"Mark listened well during the initial mapping of the day to suit my needs. I was willingly made to  prove myself and demonstrate I was moving forward to meeting the gaols I'd set for the day. Mark skilfully made me feel good about myself and decisions I'd made regarding my next motorcycle. Many thanks for providing the basis for an excellent day."

February 2016 Ben - DAS
"I had a fantastic time and I couldn't fault the process at all. I was fully prepared for each stage of the DAS and I couldn't even suggest anything to change."

February 2016 Axel - DAS
"The course had the high level of professionalism that I thought it would after the positive pre-booking experience."

January 2016 George - DAS
"This has been a thoroughly enjoyable experience. The team at Royston were amazing. I undertook the 7 day DAS having previously had 2 CBTs, one of which was still current. However the 1st 2 days of the course made me question my previous experiences with CBTs. The course just got better as the week progressed. Mark! Ian & Julie were just plain brilliant! They are very knowledgable, patient and absolutely marvellous at what they do. I wouldnt hesitate to recommend the 7 day DAS course for anybody interested in getting a full licence, regradless of prior experience. The Royston team put the shine in BMW rider training!"

January 2016 Martin - DAS
"Mark quickly made me realise my CBT was somewhat lacking! Thanks Mark for getting me up to where I should have been. Julie taught me for the rest of the week. She is extremely patient and confident and her style of instructing really instilled a lot of confidence in me. I thoroughly enjoyed the whole week and would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone else. I hope to be back once I've got a few miles under my belt."

January 2016 Les - Road Skills Intro
"After completing my DAS in March 2015,  I was keen to go back to the team in Royston for post test training (a 720 mile round trip from my home in Glasgow) as my initial experience was so good.  If anything this day was even better.  Really personalised training with a vastly experienced instructor.  Mark was very encouraging and was quickly able to see my issues and offer helpful and practical advice, with a recommended path for further development.  It was also fantastic to have a variety of BMW motorbikes to try -- this has proved expensive for me, as I now wish to upgrade my bike to an R1200R!!!"

January 2016 Fabrizio - DAS
"Julie was simply fantastic, very patient and inspiring, big thank you also to Mark for coming on his day off to help me out with my paperwork"

January 2016 George - IPT
"Fantastic course, very well delivered and tailored to my specific needs. I couldnt have asked for more. The instructors were knowledgable and able to clearly articulate the more technical aspects with very good real life examples. Great value for money!!! I had a fabulous time and wouldn't heaitate to recommend the Royston school to anybody considering a course or even refresher. They are a brilliant team."

January 2016 James - DAS
"I am extremely pleased with my experience at BMW Rider Training (although it is not yet complete). I spent some time with Mark (mainly for my first day of CBT) and the rest (so far) with Julie. I previously had no experience at all of riding, and yet by the end of my CBT was confident on the road - and this confidence has only increased since beginning my DAS.  Unfortunately I failed Mod 1 of my test, although this is not a reflection on the training I received, nor my instructors. I am looking to retake this as soon as possible.  I can only commend Julie and Mark for their help and support so far. All my questions - no matter how simple - have been answered and I have always felt prepared and supported. There is a slight 'premium' to train with BMW Rider Training vs some other schools, but in my opinion it is well worth it." James has since passed his MOD1 and MOD2.

January 2016 Jon - DAS
"First class training by first class instructors. All motorcycle training should be to this standard. Many thanks to Ian and the team."

January 2016 Lesley - DAS
"Quite simply the best training school out there. Thank you !"

January 2016 David - DAS
"I was very nervous of doing something that was totally alien to me; but to from zero on the first day, never having been in. Motor bike, to 60/70mph up fast roads and country roads by the following Friday, was a completed buzz! I also felt safe and with Julie's excellent and very calm tutelage I am confident that when I do come back down, I will have a much better chance of passing Mod 2. Altogether a fantastic experience and thanks to Julie and Mark for treating me gently!"

December 2015 George - CBT+
"Was a great couple of days and we all had fun"

December 2015 Hannah - CBT+
"Very good instructors, had a laugh throughout"